All 10th Senate principal officers [complete list]

Today, Senate President Godswill Akpabio made the announcement regarding the selection of eight senators to serve in the roles of majority and minority leaders in the 10th Senate.

The leaders of the majority came up through the All Progressives Congress (APC), which is currently in power. The leaders of the minority came from a variety of various opposition parties.

Fears that there may be a conflict of interest between parliamentarians who are close to the presidency and those who are contesting on their own have been allayed by the announcement of the major officers.

Read: Senator Godswill Akpabio Wins Senate President Seat
The following is an official listing of the principal officers that will serve in the 10th Senate:

Leaders of the majority

1. Opeyemi Bamidele, who represents Ekiti Central for the APC and is the Senate Majority Leader.

2. Dave Umahi, who represents Ebonyi South for the APC and is the Deputy Majority Leader

3. Ali Ndume, Chief Whip for the All Progressives Congress from Borno South.

4. Lola Ashiru, Deputy Whip for the All Progressives Congress (Kwara South)

The leaders of the minority

1. Mwadkwon Davou, the leader of the minority party in the Senate (PDP, Plateau North)

2. Kamorudeen Olarere, who represents Osun West for the PDP and is the Deputy Minority Leader

3. Darlington Nwokeocha is currently serving as the Senate Minority Whip for the Abia Central, LP.

4. Rufai Hanga is the Deputy Minority Whip for the NNPP and represents Kano Central.

More updates coming…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *