FCT Minister Wike takes action to eliminate slums in Garki, Jabi, and 28 other areas

Nyesom Wike, Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, has authorized the destruction of Garki, Jabi, and other 28 slums that were previously surveyed by the Federal Capital Development Authority before this government.

According to the FCTA, the destruction will affect approximately 6,000 buildings that have been identified in an effort to cleanse the land of shanties and unlawful structures.

According to the FCTA, the demolition will affect 30 sites throughout the Federal Capital Territory.

Wike, the immediate past governor of Rivers State, vowed to restore the FCT master plan on Monday, declaring that all illegal structures would be dismantled and that his administration was ready to put an end to property speculation.

He stated that he had moved about the FCT at night to observe things for himself and bemoaned the fact that the master plan of the territory had been corrupted by illegal structures in green areas of Abuja, demanding that they would be dismantled.

“The Federal Government may demolish at least 6,000 illegal structures in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) across 30 areas.”

“We will take back our land and give it to those who want to develop, and you must sign that you must develop at such and such a time,” Wike added.

Read: All illegal structures will be demolished, said FCT Minister Wike

Muktar Galadima, Director of the FCTA Department of Development Control, stated that a fresh survey will be undertaken.

“We would find time to go back and conduct a new survey,” she says, noting that the most recent survey was conducted in February 2022.

According to FCTA-verified information, the following areas have been designated for demolition:

1. Apo Mechanic Village

2. Byanzhin.

3. Dawaki

4. Dei Dei.

5. Durumi.

6. Dutse.

7. Garki.

8. Garki Village.

9. Gishiri.

10. Gwagwalada.

11. Idu.

12. Jabi.

13. Kado Village.

14. Karmo.

15. Karshi.

16. Karu.

17. Katampe.

18. Ketti Village.

19. Kpaduma.

20. Kabusa.

21. Kpana Village.

22. Kubwa.

23. Lokogoma.

24. Lugbe.

25. Mabushi.

26. Mpape.

27. Nyanya.

28. Piya Kasa.

29. Jikwoyi

30. Galadima

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *