Flood warning: NEMA warns 14 states and 31 towns

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has issued a warning that heavy rainfall leading to flooding might affect 14 states and 31 towns across the country between July 4 and July 8.

The cautionary note was included in a statement that was released on Wednesday by Mr. Ibrahim Farinloye, who serves as the Coordinator of NEMA’s Lagos Territorial Office.

Farinloye asked the key stakeholders in the affected states to take preventative steps in order to reduce the risk of loss of life and property.

On the Plateau, he named the communities of Langtang and Shendam; in Kano State, he named Sumaila and Tuun Wada; in Sokoto State, he named Shagari, Goronyo, and Silame; and in the Delta, he named Okwe.

Others include Kaduna State: Kachia; Akwa Ibom: Upenekang; Adamawa: Mubi, Demsa, Song, Mayo-Belwa, Jimeta, and Yola; Katsina State: Katsina, Jibia, Kaita and Bindawa.

Read: Flood of fury: No relief for Bayelsa, Kogi, Rivers, and 30 other states as another cloudburst approaches

He also added Wara, Yelwa, and Gwandu from Kebbi State, as well as Shinkafi and Gummi from Zamfara.

Included here are the languages of Borno (Bryel), Jigawa (Gwaram), Kwara (Jebba), and Niger (Mashegu and Kontagora).

During this time, Farinloye expressed gratitude to the Flood Early Warning System, also known as FEWS, Central Hub of the Federal Ministry of Environment Abuja, for providing them with the information.

More information coming on this topic…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *