The Senate confirms the Service Chiefs

On Thursday, the Nigerian Senate took legislative action to approve the appointments of the Service Chiefs that had been sent to it by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for legislative consideration.

The screening was performed by the Committee of the Whole, which was presided over by the Senate President, Godswill Obot Akpabo. The confirmation took place once the screening was completed.

Following their arrival earlier that day, the nominees were required to participate in the Chamber’s process, during which they were asked to provide an introduction of themselves.

Read: All 10th Senate principal officers [complete list]

According to the Gist House, after the nominees were introduced to the senators at approximately 11:00 in the morning, the senators went behind closed doors to discuss security concerns with the nominees.

Following a meeting that lasted three hours, the Senate reopened the chambers for debate at approximately three o’clock in the afternoon in order to complete the confirmation.

Voice votes were used to validate the appointments of the following individuals to their respective positions as Chiefs of Service: Major General Christopher G. Musa as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General T.A Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal H. B. Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

More details coming soon…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *