Senator Godswill Akpabio Wins Senate President Seat

Godswill Akpabio just got elected as the Senate President of the 10th Assembly. The former Governor of Akwa Ibom state turned out to be the best candidate of the All progressive Congress (APC).

During the voting process, the former Governor of Zamfara state was a very big competition with the present senator, they both went head to head for the position.

At the end, former Governor Godswill Akpabio turned out victorious. The senate President won with total votes of 63 while the other got total votes of 46.

Godswill Akpabio who is 60yrs old has had a stellar political career, In 2002-2006 he was an Akwa Ibom State Commissioner.

In 2007, he became Akwa Ibom state Governor and completed two terms till 2015.

He became a senator in 2015 where he was Senate Minority Leader till 2018.

In 2019 he was appointed Minister of Niger Delta Affairs by the Buhari Government up until 2022 when he resigned to contest for a senatorial seat.

He got elected as Senate President in 2023


Congratulations to the New Senate President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *